top of page

A Joyous Trilogy (2019, rev. 2021)

transcription for wind ensemble

Composed September - October 2019, revised 2021

Transcribed for wind ensemble September 2022

*First prize winner of the Metropolitan Youth Orchestra of New York's 2020-2021 Emerging Composers Competition: Orchestral - Division II

*2021 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards - Honorable Mention

14-16 Minutes

Instrumentation: piccolo, 2 flutes, oboe, 3 clarinets, bass clarinet, bassoon, 2 alto saxophones, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, 3 trumpets, 4 horns, 3 trombones, euphonium, tubas, harp, timpani, percussion

Percussion 1: Crotales, Vibraphone, Glockenspiel, Xylophone

Percussion 2: Triangle, Suspended Cymbal

Percussion 3: Bass Drum, Tam-tam

Premiere of transcription:

University of Texas Wind Ensemble; Jerry Junkin conducting - October 9, 2022

Subsequent Performances:

University of North Texas Wind Orchestra; Dr. Andrew Trachsel conducting - February 6, 2024

University of Texas Arlington Wind Symphony; Dr. Douglas Stotter conducting - April 5, 2024

Dallas Winds; Jerry Junkin conducting - May 14, 2024

For score and part rental:
NYC Music Services

​Program note:

For 'A Joyous Trilogy', the composer writes that he “wanted to create a composition that was the very embodiment of happiness and cheerfulness, an accessible work that would put any listener in a good mood. The first movement, ‘Running’ is so called because of its always-moving and seemingly never-waning energy that keeps going and going. The second, ‘Reflection,’ is a gentle and introspective meditation featuring a solo trombone. The third, ’Renewal,’ picks the energy back up, but a little more spirited and zestful this time, and keeps it going to the very end, complete with dynamic and vibrant interplay between all the orchestral sections.


Quinn Mason has dedicated this work to “Will White, a friend and mentor for many years now, and one of the most joyous people I know!”


-Jeff Eldridge (Principal Bassoon, Harmonia Orchestra)

This transcription was created especially for and dedicated to Prof. Jerry Junkin and the University of Texas Wind Ensemble.

bottom of page