top of page

Por Seis (2015-2016)

3 Latin-American studies for 6 instruments

Composed January 2015-July 2016

14 minutes


for six instruments (flute, english horn, clarinet doubling bass clarinet, guitar, violin, cello)

In three movements

Premiered (virtually) by One Found Sound on October 1, 2020

Set in three movements, this suite for mixed instruments pays tribute to the colorful and eclectic musical language of Latin-American dances. The first movement is a Seis por Derecho, which means 'straight six'. The second movement is calm reflection with a prominent guitar solo, which is dedicated to the founder of the columbian salsa group, Grupo Niche. The last movement is an energetic dance, a Jota which plays with mixed meters, which features high spirited solos and interplay between the entire ensemble.

for performance inquiries:

Performance by One Found Sound

bottom of page