A Joyous Trilogy (2019, rev. 2021)

for Orchestra

Composed September - October 2019, revised 2021

Commissioned by Orchestra Seattle and Seattle Chamber Singers (OSSCS)

*First prize winner of the Metropolitan Youth Orchestra of New York's 2020-2021 Emerging Composers Competition: Orchestral - Division II

14-16 Minutes

Scoring: 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 Bassoons, 4 Horns, 3 Trumpets, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Timpani, 3 Percussion, Harp and Strings


Orchestra Seattle; the composer conducting - February 15, 2020

Program note:

For 'A Joyous Trilogy', the composer writes that he “wanted to create a composition that was the very embodiment of happiness and cheerfulness, an accessible work that would put any listener in a good mood. The first movement, ‘Running’ is so called because of its always-moving and seemingly never-waning energy that keeps going and going. The second, ‘Reflection,’ is a gentle and introspective meditation featuring a solo trombone. The third, ’Renewal,’ picks the energy back up, but a little more spirited and zestful this time, and keeps it going to the very end, complete with dynamic and vibrant interplay between all the orchestral sections.


Quinn Mason has dedicated this work to “Will White, a friend and mentor for many years now, and one of the most joyous people I know!”

For score and part rental:

NYC Music Services

Social Media:

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • SoundCloud


Masonian Music.