Svítání (2020-2021)

for String Orchestra

Composed April - September 2020, rev. April 2021

Written for the MusicaNova Orchestra


Scored for String Orchestra (min. 6/6/4/4/2).

15 - 16 Minutes

in two movements



MusicaNova Orchestra; the composer conducting - May 14, 2021

Program Note:

Svítání is a Czech word, which means 'Sunrise' or 'Dawn'. The overall message of this composition is rebirth and renewal, which can relate  to the title as the birth of a new day or time. The composition itself was born out of time of great struggle and uncertainty for everyone, which is reflected in the first movement as a calm yet tension filled meditation. The second movement is in a similarly meditative feel, but triumphs this time, ending quietly in introspection like the breaking of dawn on a still and tranquil morning. With this piece being written about such a tumultous time, the overall message is that we are leaving an old chapter and beginning a new, fresh one, one that will hopefully lead us to better days ahead.


This piece is dedicated with sincere gratitude to Warren Cohen and the MusicaNova Orchestra, who I wrote this composition for.

For score and part rental:

NYC Music Services

Social Media:

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • SoundCloud


Masonian Music.